Week Three

 

 

Waiting for the resist to dry

 

So here we are at the end of week three, or as I realised almost 10% through the course.

This week was a week of screen printing and painting onto fabric, I got quite messy, but not as messy as some. The attached picture (hoping it arrives in the right place when this is published) is of just over 2 metres of habotai silk waiting for the resist to dry and then it will be painted with grey and black dye. Those of you who have seen some of my other work might recognise the image if you can make it out, it is one I have worked with on and off for a while. There are 4 lengths of silk which will be hung one in front of the other. I had to lay out a large paper image on the table, then cover it with plastic and then put the silk on top of that to paint it as parts of the image needed to be consistently in the same place on each layer. Does that make sense?

It had been an odd week, what with PJ coming out of hospital from his appendix op. and also working a couple of evenings, it’s not a case of ‘don’t give up the day job’ more ‘don’t give up the evening job’. Fortunately none of my Reflexology clients seem to mind me turning up with dye stuck around my fingernails. I guess they are used to it and have know me for long enough to know what I am like.

That’s it for this week. I shall try to get the silk piece mounted this week and post a photo next weekend. It is a stitch course this week, but do not be fooled into thinking I am going to spend the week doing needlepoint and embroidery. I don’t know what I am going to be doing but I don’t think it’ll be that. Next Friday we have the first aesthetics lecture, maybe I’ll find out what it is all about, or still be completely mystified.

Margaret.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

