Week Five

So here I am at the end of Week Five and at the end of a week’s felting. I have to admit that I was not enthusiatic about felt but am now quite a convert. It has been suggested that my prejudice was exacerbated by having my fuzzy felt book stolen whilst in hospital at the age of about 3 years.

So, felt can be all thin and wafty or as hard as wood and was not as messy as I suspected but that may be down to the tutor who is called Heather Belcher who produces lovely work. Her web site is: http://www.heatherbelcher.co.uk if you want to have a look. My felt was mainly thin and straggly because I wanted it that way not just because I am not very good at making felt, although I did actually wear through the skin on the index finger of my right hand with all the rubbing of the wool trying to encourage it to felt. I thinnk Heather is a witch of some description as her felt felted almost as soon as she looked at it.

We also had another aesthetics lecture on Friday. I am still not sure what to make of it but it is early days yet, although I have to produce an essay on aesthetics for the 14th December, 2000 words, which isn’t too many but a lot if you don’t quite know what you are talking about. I was also introduced to ‘structural linguistics’ which I am not sure I have ever heard of, lets face it I didn’t even do grammar at school. (Yes I have no doubt it shows in the way I write this blog. PJ says I write as I speak and I can’t see what is wrong with that, this blog is not my work of art, just a sort of diary.)I never got around to loading the photo of my large silk piece, so here it is. I will try to put some felt photos on in the week. This coming week is rather quieter than last, we are over the 3 weeks of compulsory short courses and have several days in the studio next week so I can do more comfort weaving. (And maybe some felting.)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Angela Horne

     /  November 6, 2012

    hello Margaret, A quick reply to your blog, which now appears in my e-mails thank you. Your weaving seems to get more even each time! Must be difficult on such a fine base. The felt is lovely as it is (and a fabulous photo of it!) but I looked at Heather Belcher’s website and I am afraid it left me cold. You have taken a huge step away from my understanding but I am glad your enthusiasm is so obviously at fever pitch.

    Have a lovely weekend.

    a

    Reply

Leave a Reply

