Still Here

So I am still weaving away. I hope to finish the big one in the next week or so.

Attached is a picture of the necklace I made on the ring linking course. I regret it does not do it justice, although as PJ says it does not have ‘wow’ factor anyway. Suffice to say I worked out that it involves 6 metres of titanium rings, that is all the rings laid edge to edge would stretch for 6 metres. They have then been hand rolled around a fine metal bar, then cut into links by hand and coloured using a blow torch and then put together again into a necklace. I did try to work out how much titanium wire was involved but it was too much like maths.

Ring linking

Needless to say it took ages as with most things I do but it is something I have wanted to do for decades so I have finally got there. There are lots of other ways you can put the links together, I think they are called ‘weaves’ which is appropriate. I have a couple of small books at home which shows different weaves and some little bags with small rings in all sorts of colours but I can’t actually find them at the moment.

I am currently trying to decide what to make for the fundraising show in May. We have to make small items to sell to raise funds to run the end of year shows. I think I might have to do some screen printed fabric which I was sort trying not to do but hey ho, it’ll keep me busy.

I am also trying to find a Jacquard loom so I can have some weaving done electronically. This is partly because it has been decided the end of year shows in West Dean and London will be on at the same time. So I have to find extra work of an appropriate quality to show. There was a loom in Falmouth but they aren’t doing anything at the moment so I have made contact with someone in Bradford and hope to get up there to sort something out soon. Unfortunately they are generally owned by colleges and they naturally give their students work first priority.

Anyway that’s enough for now.

 

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

