December – What happened to November?

Sorry not to have ‘blogged’ sooner, my brother will be ticking me off again.

The gallery in London did not want ‘The Beach’. Ah well. I still haven’t heard from the US about the others, I thought I’d hear in 2-3 weeks but it was 2-3 months.

I am still experimenting with batik and yesterday managed to become a member of ‘the black hand gang’, I am hopeless at wearing gloves. Where did ‘the black hand gang’ come from was it The Clitheroe Kid? If so, I think I might be slightly too young to remember him. Fortunately the dye I was using comes off with bleach. Unlike the dyes in the linens I am currently trying to weave with. Yes the company said to me, all the colours are dyed using the same type of dye, if one bleaches so will all the others. Wrong! Some do and some don’t. And yes for some strange reason I want to dye bits of my weaving. All will be revealed in a few months time, that is assuming I can find something to bleach the colour out of this yarn. I am going to talk to the tutor that runs Book Conservation tomorrow, he is the chemist in the place so hopefully he can find me something. If not I shall just have to spend a few days dyeing linen.

I also have been on a carpet conservation course, simply because it seemed like a good idea at the time. I now have a certificate in carpet conservation, which is a bit of a joke. I am just about finished with the dreaded essay, we were set questions this year which I think was probably a good thing, I am writing 2000 words on ‘What, for Walter Benjamin, are the potentials for photographic technology’. Yes, not much to do with weaving but I am interesting in the concept of photography as art and the fact it is so easily reproducible and how the human eye and brain sees images. I think I shall carry on investigating this line and do my dissertation on it next year, if I get here that is.

Sorry no pictures at the moment, nothing to photograph really, beautiful or otherwise. I will try to get some photo’s on before Christmas. It is the end of term two weeks tomorrow with assessments on the 17th.

I think I need to go and lie down in a dark room.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

